Thinking Back: Mitchell O’Sionnach, Able Seaman

Who are you?
I am Mitchell O’Sionnach, a lad of sixteen years, who has gone ta sea to seek me fortune, so as ta support me Mum and sister home in Ireland..

What are your dealings with the Archangel?

I am an Able Bodied Sailor on board de’ Archangel. an like the other sailors, I serve on a watch, tend ta t’e sails and rigging, and when needed can use both blade an’ shot in battle..

What is your most memorable event concerning that relationship, and do you have any prized possessions connected to the event?

My most memorable event concerning my relationship ta de ‘Angel would have to be when I went to enlist, I saw one of the ship’s officers, Dorian Lasseter, the gunner, praying under his breath with a small chaplet, I quietly remarked upon the ta beauty of such a ting, it having reminded me of my home, where, when I was small I remember my father having a similar rosary, when he went to pray.

The day after the ship left port I noticed a small parcel in my sea-chest, one that was not there before…. in it was a chaplet, very similar to the Gunner’s.
It is a possession I treasure right much.. a token, though neither of us remarked upon it, that I suspect is from one countryman to another.

NOTE: PENAL TIMES
In 1691, King James II signed the Treaty of Limerick. This assured that the Irish Catholics were secure to own their own land, could speak their own language and above all, practice their religion. History tells us that as soon as he left Ireland, the treaty was broken and all the guarantees above were denied by the English.

Death became the common penalty for attending or celebrating the Mass. Many many Priest and Laity lost their lives in the underground churches. These times became known as the ‘Penal Times’ and the Irish Penal Rosary became popular.

Information from :
rosary workshop – museum – irish penal rosary . (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.rosaryworkshop.com/MUSEUM-Irish…Rosary-20c.html

Copyright M.Fink December 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

