Thinking Back: Josephine Legard, Indentured Servant and Herbalist

Who are you?

Josephine Legard, an indentured servant from Cancale, in the Brittany region of France.

What are your dealings with the Archangel?

I am indentured to the Master Gunner of the Archangel, Dorian Lasseter.

What is your most memorable event concerning that relationship, and do you have any prized possessions connected to the event?

My most memorable event would be my rescue from my indenture from St. Malo by Monsieur Lasseter. I was indentured to a rather unkind tavern owner in the city, and the Archangel crewe took rest at our tavern following a great storm that damaged their ship. They were disguised as Frenchmen so as to receive kind treatment. Toward the end of their stay, Dorian Lasseter was involved in a game of cards with the tavern owner. The owner bet my papers in a last ditch effort to recoup his losses, but was defeated and my papers passed to Monsieur Lasseter.

I still carry a letter in my pocket, written by my brother when he was forced upon a ship bound to New France. It was the last word I had from him, and my last connection to St. Malo. I carry it in the hopes that I will someday find him again.

NOTE: In the late 17th/early 18th century many women often kept Herbals, books or scrap books containing herbal remedies known to work, to care for their families.

“The housewife is assured that she will not be asked to deal with the ‘depth and secrets of this most excellent art of physic,’ receiving instruction only in ‘some ordinary rules and medicines which may avail for the benefit of her family…for the curing of those ordinary sicknesses which daily perturb the health of men and women’.” Gervase Markham

For more information on the subject, please see the following:

Anna’s Herbal, An Education in the Healing Power of Herbs
Geraldine Brooks, Year of Wonders
Sharon Hiltz, 2011
http://www.fairmontstate.edu/collegeoflibe…AS%20HERBAL.pdf

The English Housewife, Gervase Markham
Edited by Michael R. Best
http://books.google.com/books?id=bJ2KV5vfz…epage&q&f=false

For more on Josephine Legard, click here
https://creweofthearchangel.wordpress.com/2…-joseph-legard/
Copyright September 2013/J.Otte

Leave a Reply

