Transcription of Letter Recv’d by Captain Sterling 3 August 1720

To John Christian Sterling
Captain of the Archangel
Red Lyon Yard
Wapping, White Chapel

My dear Friend John,

I pray this Missive finds you well and that your melancholy Humor, although most certainly understood after the passing of your dear Wife Anne and the Babe, has long since departed. Yours and your Crewe’s Services during the late War with Spain, were much appreciated during such a wretched Spell. And, though, you have not had much Time to Rest after the Close of Fighting this February past, I am in need that you return to Duty. There is a most weighty Favour I must request of you, as I must attend to further Concerns here in England prior to taking up my Post down in the Caribbean as Governor.

I would entreat that you would be so kind as to stand in for me, for a short Time, as acting Lieutenant Governor and preside over a Vice-Admiralty court regarding a Tryal for Pyracy. You would need to make sail no later than the end of this Summer so I suggest you make haste in gathering yourself together along with the Needs and Wants of your Ship and Men. Of course there will be proper Reward for those you chose to take along with you.

I shall await your immediate Response. And know, that I am most grateful that you shall see fit to accept my Proposal with all due Speed. And just consider, we both know, full well, that this will provide a most perfect Opportunity for you to take up, once again, what we both know you and your Men do so well. Also noting, such a Cruise offers a most needed Distraction for you, t’is high Time you took yourself out of such Depressions.

With my most Sincere & utmost Regard,

J. Hart

act liet. letter
act liet. letter page 2

C.A.Salone copyright 2013

One Response to “Transcription of Letter Recv’d by Captain Sterling 3 August 1720”

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

